Taken for Granted

There should be mommy medals or awards for those times when patience and strength are tested. What are some examples of times when a medal could be achieved?

Giving birth. The first time your child needs to have stitches. Perhaps when your toddler throws the Oscar-winning tantrum performance of their little lives in the middle of the grocery store. I would also toss in the dreaded stomach flu.

My family recently went through a bout of stomach illness which persisted well beyond the “24 hours” normal time frame. My husband and two small children were sick for 5 days straight, unable to keep anything down but the occasional cup of juice. As soon as a day would pass without one of them throwing up, I would become giddy at the prospect of health returning to my family. This was quickly met with volatile bodily movements and cleaning up my van.

Bummer. What mother hasn’t gone through this? The stomach flu is the pits! Constant laundry, cleaning messes, checking temperatures, warning people who may have been exposed, thinking it could be over and then laughing at yourself for being so foolish…

A medal. This type of experience would merit a “mommy level up” life event plaque.

Or does it? I could go on and on about the horrors of stomach ailments and what I cannot unsee in my lifetime. However, this kind of interruption in normal family life forces us to step back and reflect on what is taken for granted.

I am certainly grateful for my healthy children and husband. I never thought I would be over the moon about people not puking for a week straight. My heart was tested and God has shown me what He blesses all of us with most of our lives: comfortable health. You never think about how awesome it is to be well in the body until you are stripped of your health.

A week and a half later, I am still praising God for our renewed strength. I don’t need a medal because the peace we have now is far better. This time of health is a blessing.

“I will give thanks to you Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all Your wonderful deeds” (Psalm 9:1, the New International Version).

 

Leave a comment